Databases by Subject

Business:

Business Insights: Essentials - This comprehensive database brings together a wide variety of global business information including company profiles, industry reports, and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. It contains full text from over 3,900 periodical titles.

General Research:

Grolier Online - Includes access to the Encyclopedia Americana, New Book of Knowledge and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia as well as Roget's II: The New Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition.

Health:

Health and Reference Center Academic - This health database includes over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Kids and Homework:

eLibrary Elementary - Contains over 140 magazines and books for elementary students. Also includes the American Heritage Dictionary.

Kids InfoBits - Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.

Opposing Viewpoints - Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.

Tumblebooks - books for beginning readers with added animation, sounds, music, and narration--a fun format for children and parents to enjoy together! Games and activities are included with some stories. (Provided by the Upper Hudson Library System).

Multi-Subject:

Academic OneFile - This database contains over 12,000 journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.

General OneFile - This general periodical database contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more

Newspapers and Magazines:

Gannett Newsstand Complete - Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).

Infotrac Newsstand (Gale) - includes full-text articles from New York Times: 1/1/1985-; Times Union: 3/1/1986

New York State Newspapers - Provides indexing (1977 to present) of five major U.S. newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post.

National Newspaper Index - Provides indexing (1977 to present) of five major U.S. newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post.


Unless otherwise noted, databases are provided by NOVEL. Remote use requires a valid library card from Albany or Rensselaer counties.

Last updated: October 17, 2013
program guide
search databases
support your library
Sign Up for Updates